This is our Jesus

I’m new here. This is my first blog post. Why am I doing this? Because I would like to be the greatest influence for Jesus that I can be. I will preface by saying that I have not gone to seminary and I am no expert by any means but I love God and I desire to be used as a vessel. On that note, what better way to start off my blog by reflecting on the beautiful one I love, Jesus.

Last summer, I read the book Beautiful Outlaw by John Eldredge and it was such a fascinating read for me. Before I read this book, my relationship with God was not where it should be. I didn’t really know how to view Jesus as he should be viewed. I won’t go into too much detail about that because why feed a past lie? When I read this book, my relationship with God grew more dynamic. I discovered more about Jesus personality; his disruptive, fierce, honest and beautiful personality. Let’s take a step-by-step breakdown to unpack this.

Square one; who is Jesus? In Pauls’ letter to the church of Colosse, it is written in Colossians 1:19-20 NIV “For God was pleased to have all his fullness dwell in him, 20 and through him to reconcile to himself all things, whether things on earth or things in heaven, by making peace through his blood, shed on the cross.” Jesus is both fully man and fully God. The Apostle Paul says in Colossians 1:15 NIV that “He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation.” Hold up, “For the Son of Man came to seek and save what was lost (Luke 19:10 NIV).” That’s it, I’m already in tears. Humble.

The humility of Jesus is overwhelming. What other king would give up his son for me? The Son of God learned how to walk, talk and tie his shoes. His humanity was 100% real. He was tired every night, hungry and had to walk everywhere. Walk. Humble.

Jesus is playful; “the personality of the artist leaks through their work. God included (Beautiful Outlaw, Eldredge 19).” A lot of things in nature make me laugh. Earlier today actually, my mom and I went to the lake. On our relaxing walk downhill to the trail, a flock of seagulls seemed to swarm around us, not to mention during a serious conversation, and made a huge “WAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!” I couldn’t help but die laughing! There are no mistakes and coincidences. I guess that moment was too serious. Playful.

Fierce Intention. In John 2:13-17, Jesus is fiercely intentional. In the Word, he goes to Jerusalem and sees that men were making a market place of the temple courts. He scatters the animals and turns tables. Close your eyes and put yourself in that place. Imagine the chaos. Hundreds, if not thousands, of coins hitting the ground left and right. On top of that, animals running all around. If the panic wasn’t enough we hear Jesus shouting over them “Get these out of here! How dare you turn my Fathers’ house into a market! (John 2:16).” Chaos. Jesus was not frail, he was in fact here “the bull in the china shop (Eldredge 36).” Fierce intention.

There is much more to say about Jesus and his personality. These are the three words that stood out to me most; humble, playful and fiercely intentional. Realizing these things about Jesus radically changed my relationship with Him. Friends, this is our Jesus. Overcomer, redeemer and lover of our souls.

May the Lord bless and keep you!

Work Cited:

Eldredge, John. Beautiful Outlaw. New York: Faith Words, 2011. Print.

