It’s All Absurd

Have you ever stopped to think about how absurd all of this is?

Last night, I found myself thinking about just how crazy everything is. That the God of the universe deeply, madly loves us when we don’t deserve it. It’s madness. It’s such amazing grace. As the Apostle Paul wrote to the Church at Ephesus, “I pray that you will be able to understand how wide and how long and how high and how deep His love is” (Ephesians 3:18 NLV). I don’t think I ever truly will understand the depths of His love. But hallelujah, what a good Father I have who loves me unconditionally.

That’s not all! On top of that, He can use us, in our brokenness, to do good works for Him and to show others His light. This makes me feel extremely humble. Who am I that the creator would love me so madly and then on top of all that, use me to show others His glory and advance His kingdom? It’s absurd I’m telling you. As Paul wrote to the Church at Corinth, “28 God chose what is low and despised in the world, even things that are not, to bring to nothing things that are, 29 so that no human being might boast in the presence of God. 30 And because of him you are in Christ Jesus, who became to us wisdom from God, righteousness and sanctification and redemption, 31 so that, as it is written, “Let the one who boasts, boast in the Lord (1 Corinthians 1:28-31 ESV).” This verse is like a flagship verse for me and has been so true in my life. Recently, I had one of those moments where I just looked around me and thought, “how in the world did I get here.” It’s all by the grace of an extraordinary, perfect and wonderful God. Hallelujah, we serve a God who can make beautiful things out of the dust!

I pray that this blesses and encourages you as you go through your week. Friends, we serve an unstoppable God.

 

