Dream On

Dream: a cherished aspiration, ambition, or ideal.

Driving home from work the other day, underneath a steady downfall of rain, I took my usual route home from work. A left turn here, straight ahead for 5 miles and the drive continues. It’s almost as if that route is programed in me and my hands know exactly when to turn my steering wheel. There is no thought attached to that drive home other than that of what I have left to do that day. Auto-pilot mode. I parked my car outside. Auto-pilot. I locked the doors on my car. Auto-pilot. You get the picture. Everything I did was nothing new and all following suit with what I had to do. I didn’t aspire to do anything out of the ordinary that day but just to check off my to-do list.

This led me to think… am I too attached to routine?

When I was younger, I used to dream that the Queen of England would discover that I was her long lost daughter. She would take me with her back to the castle, dress me up in beautiful sparkly ball gowns and I would dance all day long. This was one of the many dreams I had for my life from my childhood.

Now, I can’t pin down a single dream I have for my life. I am a realist yet an optimist, a glass half-full kind of person. I don’t have any dreams right now. Have I become too attached to reality that I can’t imagine anything else? Have I lost my ability to dream? Do I even want to dream anymore?

Lately, God has been urging me to dream with Him. To detach from my plans of what I think will happen next. To let Him place dreams in my heart that only He can make come true. It’s scary to not dream but what’s worse is dreaming again. Because, unlike what the young girl hoped for, the Queen didn’t reclaim me. I do not have a closet full of sparkly dresses. When dreams in the natural die, it’s painful. But a dream that the Father places inside, won’t be. Everything has a purpose and it’s all for His glory and renown.

Lord, help me to seek your plans for my life, not my own plans. You are wild, loving and good. Your future for me is bright as I continue to walk hand in hand with you. Place dreams in my heart that only you can fulfill for your glory. Thank you for the cross. Thank you for calling me your beloved child. Thank you for being my perfect Father. I love you because you first loved me. In Jesus name, Amen.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

