Safety

“A ship is safe in harbor, but that’s not what ships are for.” -William G.T. Shedd

I have faith but I want deeper faith.

One of my absolute favorite stories in the Bible is that of Jesus walking on water. To start with some background, Jesus feeds the 5,000 then he sends the disciples on a boat to cross the Sea of Galilee. Hours pass and the Disciples encounter storm on the water. It gets better from here…read and see…

22 Immediately Jesus made the disciples get into the boat and go on ahead of him to the other side, while he dismissed the crowd. 23 After he had dismissed them, he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray. Later that night, he was there alone, 24 and the boat was already a considerable distance from land, buffeted by the waves because the wind was against it. 25 Shortly before dawn Jesus went out to them, walking on the lake. 26 When the disciples saw him walking on the lake, they were terrified. “It’s a ghost,” they said, and cried out in fear. 27 But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.” 28 “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.” 29 “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. 30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!” 31 Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?” 32 And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down. 33 Then those who were in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.” (Matthew 14:22-33)

How awesome. I try to put myself in the place of the disciples in this story. This scene seems straight out of a movie and it’s wonderful. I love the childlike faith Peter shows when he wanted to come to Jesus on the water. I want that childlike faith. I want to stop over thinking and doubting. Gods got it all in His hands.

Daddy, increase my faith. I’ve taken the leap and what blessed assurance I have that I won’t sink. You are awesome God and I thank you for all you are. I love you and serve you alone forever. In Jesus name, amen.

Excerpt from Walk On Water (feat. Melodie Wagner of Hillsong Young & Free) by Family Force 5

“I wanna walk on water

Take a leap

And step out knowing

You won’t let me sink

I wanna trust You deeper

Live life believin’

That You are

Everything You say You are

‘Cause You’re everything You say You are

 

I’ve prayed Your proof, and I’ve asked You to give me a sign

But You already did

When You traded Your life for mine

You call my name through the rain and the wind

I hear Your voice and it’s pulling me in, You’re pulling me in”

