Levels of Change

Last week I learned about something so relevant and cool, I just had to share. This may be the most academic thing I write on my blog but it’s too good. I learned about Robert Dilts “Levels of Change.” The main idea of these levels is that they are a hierarchy of levels of change in our lives. Each level has power over the other level. So, in order for us to really change something in our lives we have to start from the top down.

Identity

Beliefs

Capabilities

Behavior

Enviroment

                The bottom tier is environment. The idea of this is that wherever you are, there you’ll be. An example would be that if someone lived in a crime ridden neighborhood, that person would be automatically guarded in an effort to protect themselves. Where they are, a crime ridden neighborhood; is where they’ll be, in protection mode. Changing this level of someone’s life is usually shown by the statement “if my (fill in the blank) was changed, my life would improve.” But ultimately a change in in environment will not bring lasting peace.

The next tier up would be behavior. An example of this would be a person desiring to lose weight changes their behavior by dieting and exercising. This level of change is usually performed by one of two methods; prescriptive method and prohibitive method. Prescriptive method would be giving yourself a “to-do.” For example, making yourself workout every day. The next method would be the prohibitive. This one is limiting yourself to certain things, “don’ts.” For example, giving up additional sugars in an effort to lose weight. The bible tells us to “…seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well (Matthew 6:33).” To change our behavior is to change what we want.

The third tier from the bottom is capabilities. By capabilities, I mean our brains “default settings.” Finding this our about ourselves comes from figuring out what we believe we are capable of?

The next to the top tier is beliefs. We have many thoughts a day nut there is a world of difference between a thought and a belief. A thought becomes a belief when a judgment is attached to it. A belief has power over your life whether that belief is positive or negative. To change our beliefs changes a lot about who we are as people.

The top level is identity. Who do you believe God made you to be? Identity comes from God alone. We are a new creation (2 Corinthians 5:17) and a part of a new kingdom (Colossians 1:13). How you view who you are changes everything.

Who do you believe God made you to be?

I recently learned this all from a Freedom Basics class I took. This is so relative because in the past I found myself stuck going back to old ways even though I had changed my environment and so on. I did that because my mind wasn’t changed about these things. Let the Lord come in and change your mind. He came to do so much more than to save you.

Grace and Peace.

